spc

marées_chalet_07_23

sound / video, 3 min 30 sec, 2008

> listen to sound / view video

The work marées_chalet_07_23 is rather an illustrated sound than a video with underlying sound. This sound can be interpreted as the auditive correspondence of the tides on a certain day - July 23rd 2008 - at Saint-Jean-Port-Joli, Quebec where the work was created during a residency at Centre Est-Nord-Est.

The data (times and levels) of the tides of the St. Lawrence on that specific day can be found on the website of Hydrographic Service of Canada. Plotting the the variable water levels over time in a coordinate system results in a graph of the shape of a wave.



Wave forms like this can also be found in the context of the visualization of tones resp. sound the amplitude taking the place of the height of the water level. The sepcific tone depends on the exact shape of the graph and its wave length, i.e. the time that is needed to reach a point equivalent to the starting configuration.



The import of a tidal wave into a sound software is quasi the translation of the time-dependent water level into a tone. As the course of the tides slightly varies every day the tonal version is characteristic for a specific day as well.



The initial wave form has been worked on by duplication, stretching by integer multiples, overlap of tracks, volume and echo modulation - altogether modifications that preserve the original tonality.



The resulting sound track is illustrated by a chronological series of images showing the varying water levels of the St. Lawrence on that same day seen from a small chalet at Saint-Jean-Port-Joli.

< overview works

spc

marées_chalet_07_23

Sound / Video, 3 min 30 sec, 2008

Bei der Arbeit marées_chalet_07_23 handelt es sich weniger um ein vertontes Video als vielmehr um einen illustrierten Sound. Dieser Sound ist die tonale Übersetzung des Tidenhubs an einem bestimmten Tag, nämlich dem 23. Juli 2008, in Saint-Jean-Port-Joli, Québec, Entstehungsort der Arbeit.

Die Daten für Zeiten und Wasserstände des St. Lorenzstromes an diesem Tag wurden den Webseiten des Service hydrographique du Canada entnommen. Das Auftragen der veränderlichen Wasserhöhen gegen die Zeit in einem Koordinatensystem liefert eine Wellenform.



Ebensolche Wellen finden wir auch bei der Darstellung von Tönen, wobei an die Stelle der Wasserhöhe zu einem bestimmten Zeitpunkt die Amplitude des Tones tritt. Der Ton selbst hängt ab von der genauen Form des Graphen und seiner Wellenlänge, d.h. der Zeitspanne bis zur Wiederkehr an die Ausgangssituation.



Die Verwendung der Gezeitenwelle in einem Sound-Bearbeitungsprogramm ist quasi die Übersetzung des zeitlich veränderlichen Wasserstandes in Klang. Da die Gezeiten an keinem Tag exakt gleich verlaufen, ist diese Vertonung immer auch charakteristisch für den Tag, dessen Daten verwendet werden.



Die Ausgangswellenform wurde so bearbeitet − Vervielfältigung, Streckung der Wellenlänge um ganzzahlige Vielfache, Überlagerung der so entstandenen Tonspuren, Lautstärke- und Echo-Modulation − dass die ursprüngliche Tonalität erhalten bleibt.



Die Illustration des Sounds erfolgt durch Überblendung chronologischer Fotoaufnahmen vom selben Tag, die die veränderlichen Wasserstände von einem Chalet in Saint-Jean-Port-Joli am Ufer des St. Lorenzstromes aus zeigen.
Die Arbeit entstand während eines Residency-Aufenthaltes im Centre Est-Nord-Est.

> Arbeit ansehen/anhören

< Übersicht Arbeiten